Posted by: Josey | September 5, 2008

He Rode His Scooter from Chicago to New York City (Part Two)

by Josey Miller

Read part one here.

I grimaced and audibly groaned as he sat down on our beautiful Room & Board sofa. And suddenly the extra fee we paid for stain-resistant fabric was worth every penny.

“How was your trip?” I asked.

“It didn’t start out great, but it ended fine.”

“Why, what happened?”

“Well, I knew I couldn’t take highways so I printed out directions that listed only side roads. I stuffed them all in my backpack, and I kept my backpack between my feet for the ride. But about two hours from Mom and Dad’s house—somewhere in Indiana—I unzipped it to grab the next page and every last sheet flew out and over my head. I tried to look behind me as I steered and just watched them scatter all over the road.”

“Oh, man! So what did you do?”

“Well, I bought an Atlas at a gas station. Here, I’ll show you.”

And he pulled the big book of maps out of his dingy backpack to show me his route. He pointed out the most scenic roads and showed me where he camped along the way.

“Wait, you camped? In what tent?”

“Oh, I had a one-person tent, but I had to throw it away.”

“What? Why?”

“It was weighing me down. Between the tent and all my clothes, I could only go 35 miles per hour, but I knew I could hit 45 without ‘em.”

“I’m sorry. Do you mean to tell me you got rid of all your clothes, too?”

“Well, not all of them,” he said as if to imply, What are you, stupid?

“Oh, that reminds me. Can I do some laundry?”

“I actually think that would be a great idea.”

And he flipped over his bag, dumping out its contents: a pair of boxers, an undershirt. And all 1,424 pages of Tolstoy’s War and Peace.

Read part three here.

Responses

  1. So the tent and the laundry were weighin him down but War and Peace was considered too essential to discard? lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

