Posted by: Josey | January 4, 2009

Stylin’: Old Spitalfields Market, London (Part Two)

Read part one here.

David and Lia just moved to Fashion Street* (you can’t make this stuff up). So, who better to ask about where to go in London when on a mission to be more fashionable? They knew exactly where to send me: Old Spitalfields Market.

The next morning I boarded the red double-decker bus (first in the wrong direction, then in the right direction) to the cutting-edge Spitalfields district of London. I was armed with a cup of coffee, a self-imposed budget of $100 USD (yes, total—I’m a bargain-shopping machine) and instructions from Lia to look for items that spoke to me: “Edgy, but pretty,” she guided. “That should be your goal.”

I was drawn to one pair of dangly, art-deco earrings, a necklace with a pressed, dried flower under glass… I even saw a necklace with a steel guitar string “chain.” But they weren’t quite right (and/or in the budget). So I continued to browse and haggle for nearly four hours until I was satisfied. Only then did I discover the other half of the market. But by then, my shopping bag was full, my wallet was depleted of pounds and my feet ached. So I headed back to the hotel, excited to show off my purchases.

(To be continued… with photos!)

Update: Read part three here.

*They’re giving my friend John in San Diego a run for his money: He lives on Electric Avenue.

Responses

  1. Raise your hand if you have that song in your head now–something something something on electric avenue…can’t remember anything but that line. :) Can’t wait to see the photos!

  2. “We gonna rock down to Electric Avenue… And then we’ll take it higher”!


Leave a Reply

Categories

