Posted by: Josey | May 6, 2010

Josey Miller on the Matador Travel Network: Hang Gliding over Rio de Janeiro

In my peripheral vision, I saw Jeff in ready position at the top of the wooden runway. “I love you!” I shouted as if it would be the last time. He glared back at me as if this had been my idea, not his. I watched my husband disappear into the clouds.

I realized that the helmet strap didn’t hug my chin. “Is this safe?” I asked Rony, as I showed him the gap between strap and skin. He responded only with a laugh, led me to the ledge and instructed me to keep my left hand on his spine and my right hand on a noose hanging from the steering bar at all times. His back was sweaty on my left hand. The frayed khaki rope splintered my right.

“And…run!”

To read my full article about hang gliding over Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, click here now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

