Posted by: Josey | July 8, 2010

My Neighborhood Through a Travel-Blogger-cum-Tourist’s Eyes

It’s no secret that I’m head-over-heels in love with Greenwich Village, my New York City neighborhood. In fact, when Jeff and I moved in together four years ago, after I’d been living alone for four years on the corner of MacDougal Street and Minetta Lane, the farthest he could convince me to migrate was a mere four blocks. I don’t need a reminder of how lucky I am, but if ever there was one, here’s a recent write-up by Pam of Nerd’s Eye View, who spent a while as my neighbor during her visit to NYC for TBEX.

Hey, Pam, to fill in a few blanks: That “spectacular gelato place” was Cones, my absolute favorite. The fountain plaza around the corner was Father Demo Square. The coffee shop playing The Grateful Dead was probably Grey Dog on Carmine. And that church dome was Our Lady of Pompei (a friend of mine was married there after sharing a first date with her now-husband at the trattoria across the street).

Responses

  1. Hi Josey! The Gray Dog was indeed on Carmine, but the gelato place we went to was GROM. On the corner of Bleeker and, uh, er, um… your neighborhood is awesome.

    :)

  2. Come back soon, Pam–and next time opt for Cones over GROM… :) I hope to make it out to your neighborhood someday, too, and I’m sure I’ll feel the same way!


Leave a Reply

Categories

