Posted by: Josey | February 13, 2011

My First Knish: Yonah Shimmel’s on E. Houston Street, New York City

“The prices have gone up since I was last here, but that was a million years ago,” said one of the many customers who’d elbowed her way to the front of the crowd at Yonah Shimmel’s Knish Bakery on E. Houston Street in the Lower East Side neighborhood of New York City.

“So why it took you so long to come back?” the man behind the counter quipped.

As the woman explained that she’d moved “far away,” to a neighborhood in Brooklyn with its own acclaimed knish-baking community, a fellow potato-bun fan objected:

“Sorry, but I live in Kansas, and I was last here in November. No excuses!”

But I kept quiet. After all, not only am I a Jew who’s lived in New York City for nearly ten years now; I also live on the very same street as this 101-year-old niche establishment… and I was visiting to try my first ever knish. If anyone should have come armed with excuses, in addition to $3.50 for a savory knish or $4 for the sweeter variety, it was me. Instead I hid behind my camera:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


When was the last time you saw a dumbwaiter?

Responses

  1. They’re easy to miss, because the knishes are so good, but the chicken noodle soup and potato latkes are worth a taste too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

