Posted by: Josey | May 5, 2011

Fourth Wedding Anniversary: Tourist Night on Bateaux New York

A full decade into my life in New York City, I may still feel like more of a tourist than most NYC residents: granted, a tourist who knows to pronounce Houston Street “Howston,” only to take yellow cabs (not black sedans), to avoid Times Square when in a rush, and never to stop when someone on the sidewalk asks, “Where do you get your hair cut?” Even with ten year’s worth of workdays, workouts, trips to the supermarket and other humdrum minutiae of daily life under my belt, I rarely take New York City for granted.

I’ve come to learn that the most authentic New York City views aren’t of inanimate objects, nor absorbed from above the city, be it the Empire State Building, Top of the Rock, even Filene’s Basement in Union Square; they’re at street level, watching the people who live here interacting with each other in their unique and constantly changing extremes: so kind, so warm, so angry, so generous.

Yet still I must admit: When staring at the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, possibly from the same New York Harbor vantage point as my ancestors, it was hard not to feel humbled… just as I felt while first stumbling awestruck through Times Square as a first-time visitor in late 2000, then again after moving here in early 2001. Add a beautiful April night with live jazz, chocolate mousse cake, and the wonderful husband of four years who orchestrated this surprise, and you’ll have my night on Bateaux New York, a glass-boat sunset dinner cruise past the Brooklyn Bridge, Battery Park City, South Street Seaport, Governor’s Island and, of course, the Statue of Liberty, among other sites.

I may no longer be a New York City newcomer, but I’m still a tourist.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Not my best photography, I’m aware. But you try shooting in the dark from a rocking boat!

How did we celebrate our third wedding anniversary? Click here to find out.

Responses

  1. Josey thank you for this great review – I’ve been considering this boat ride for a long time – Kim Jack Riley


Leave a Reply

Categories

